Privacy  Read more



Drake and producer Noah "40" Shebib formed a record label named OVO Sound in early 2012. Drake and 40 represented OVO (October's Very Own) since his previous mixtapes were released.

The label is currently distributed by Warner Bros. Records. The label signed its first artist who goes by PARTYNEXTDOOR and also signed producers Boi-1da, T-Minus, and Mike Zombie. In 2012, Jake One produced a song for Drake, originally expected to be released ahead of the third annual OVO Fest. A video of Drake previewing the untitled song while smoking a hookah was released on June 26, 2012 through Vimeo.

In the event, the previously unissued "Enough Said" by the late Aaliyah featuring verses added by Drake was released instead on the day of the concert.[86]
While touring in the UK in support of Take Care, Drake announced in an interview that he had begun work on his third studio album. He had recently worked with 40, and was hoping to work with Jamie xx, who produced Take Care's title track, while in the UK, stating that he wants him to "have a bigger presence on my third record".

Drake has stated that the album will have a different style than that of Take Care.

Drake was featured on Rick Ross's single "Diced Pineapples" from God Forgives, I Don't, Kendrick Lamar's song "Poetic Justice" from Good Kid, M.A.A.D City, and ASAP Rocky's "Fuckin' Problems" from Long. Live. ASAP, which also features Kendrick Lamar and 2 Chainz. On December 5, 2012, it was announced Drake's record label, October's Very Own, inked a distribution deal with Warner Bros. Records.

In January 2013 Drake was seen filming the music video for a new song titled "Started from the Bottom" and was being directed by Director X.

Drake later announced that he will release the song as the first single off his third studio album on the night of the 55th Grammy Awards.[91] The single was instead premiered on February 1, 2013 and released to iTunes five days later. At the 55th Grammy Awards, he won the award for Best Rap Album for Take Care and announced his third studio album would be titled Nothing Was the Same.

In March 2013 he would premiere a song off the album titled "5 AM in Toronto", a sequel to the Thank Me Later track "9 AM in Dallas". Later in the month he would film a music video for the song and it would be released on April 1, 2013. Drake also would release two more songs on April 15, 2013 titled "No New Friends", a song that will be featured on DJ Khaled's Suffering from Success album, and "Girls Love Beyonce", which contains a samples from Destiny's Child song "Say My Name".

On September 14, 2013, Drake performed an unreleased song from his upcoming album Nothing Was the Same, titled "Too Much", featuring London singer Sampha on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.

Touring dates

Request a tour


Β© 2022 International Affairs Group | All rights reserved
IA GROUP BV | Broekstraat 32 | 6828 PZ Arnhem, Netherlands | KVK 63527065
71-75 Shelton Street | WC2H 9JQ | Convent Garden, London | COC 11077398